The 2018 AZ Awards are currently open for submissions until February 20th, 2018. Fast becoming one of the most recognized awards programs internationally, the awards are an outstanding opportunity for architects and designers to gain international exposure and acknowledgement for their work.

Debuted by the Toronto-based AZURE publication and presented by Keilhauer, the AZ Awards attract entries from some of the most forward-thinking firms from all around the globe. Last year, over 800 entries were received from 41 different countries. From this, a jury of experts selected 70 finalists on the basis of innovative design, environmental strategy, social benefit or pure delight. Meet this year’s jury here.

Winners will be be announced at the AZ Awards Gala in Toronto on June 22, 2018. This gala offers a unique networking opportunity with the industry’s elite and other finalists from around the globe. Winners are featured on Azure’s online and social media channels, and on the communication platforms of the AZ Awards International media partners.


The 2018 AZ Awards are open to:
- Designers and design firms from all disciplines
- Architects, landscape architects and architectural firms
- Post-secondary students enrolled in design and architecture programs in 2017
- Clients and manufacturers
- Projects must be completed by December 31st, 2017
- Products must be prototyped or in production
- Concepts must have been developed or presented for the first time in 2017.

Categories are:
Architecture: Residential buildings; commercial and institutional buildings over 1,000 square meters; commercial and institutional buildings under 1,000 square meters; temporary and demonstration projects
Landscape Architecture: Public and private landscapes
Interiors: Residential spaces; commercial and institutional spaces
Design: Furniture; furniture systems; lighting fixtures; lighting installations; interior products; architectural projects
Experiential Graphic Design: Wayfinding; sign programs; information and map design; experiential brand identity
Concepts: Unbuilt competition entries; concepts/prototypes
A+ Award: Projects developed by a student enrolled in post-secondary design or architecture program in 2017. The winner will receive a $5,000- cash prize.

All entries may be considered for the Social Good Award and/or the Environmental Leadership Award by election. A winner in each of these two categories will be selected. Projects may be entered in one or both categories. For the Social Good Award, projects must advance social equity and have a positive impact on the collective realm. For the Environmental Leadership Award, projects must show sensitivity and respect for the use and management of natural resources throughout their lifecycle, especially with respect to materials and energy use.


The online entry portal and more can be found at awards.azuremagazine.com